I fight for the promotion of rationality and compassion in matters of basic human rights.

I fight because this is everyone’s fight, even if not everyone may realize it.
Of course I first and foremost want my gay friends, acquaintances, former teachers, coworkers, neighbors and even complete strangers to be allowed their full right to the Pursuit of Happiness.
But I also want this country to avoid the precedent of making laws based in misunderstanding and unwarranted fear.  If the LGBT community can be marginalized through policy only because of vague, unsubstantiated allegations of being harmful to society, then the same can happen to any other subset of the population.
I fight for the promotion of rationality and compassion in matters of basic human rights.
Anyone who has any sense of empathy should be able to understand how much it would hurt to be denied a job, a place to live, the ability to marry the person you love and give them the same benefits and protections other couples are allowed.
Anyone who has spent time with a gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender person should be able to realize that a different orientation does not make a person a threat to society.  I understand one of the biggest concerns people have is that they don’t want their kids to learn that acceptance of homosexuality is good.  But we would all do well to remember that one of the most important lessons you can teach your children is DIFFERENT does not automatically mean BAD.  If we as a country are supposedly able to overlook other differences in areas like race, ethnicity, religion, political persuasion, et cetera, and live in peace, then we can do the same for sexual orientation.
Come on, America!  We can do better!

If it matters, I am straight and I feel that my life will only be enriched when everyone I care about is allowed all the same opportunities I have.  I can’t wait for that to happen.

One response to “I fight for the promotion of rationality and compassion in matters of basic human rights.

Leave a Reply

