I fight for equality so that years from now nobody will ever have to be told to be something they are not.

A very good friend of mine told me about two months ago that I should give up the idea of ever stepping on the wrestling mat ever again. He told me that wrestling was much too personal and as soon as anybody new I was a homosexual they would try to injure me or worse.  He told me that if I did decide to wrestle I should hide my sexuality like I did in High School and College.  My friend thinks very highly of me and only wants to protect me… but I’m tired of being told I can’t wrestle because I’m gay.  I’m tired of the memories of being called a pedophile and sodomite, and being told I’m going to hell, by the parents of the kids I used to coach.  I’m tired of being told if I do wrestle I have to be “straight” to do it.  I’m tired of the curled eyebrows and the hushed voices.  I fight for equality so that years from now nobody will ever have to be told to be something they are not.  I fight because if I don’t take a stand for who I am, and as who I am – what I love, than who will?

2 responses to “I fight for equality so that years from now nobody will ever have to be told to be something they are not.

  1. I will.
    Keep standing up for yourself and being who you are and doing what you love.
    I bet you are changing more minds than you know. We can only hope.

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review | Why do you fight?

Leave a Reply

